2010 - The Wicked Symphony

2013-04-01 22:24
Release date: 
April 03rd, 2010
Line up
Michael Kiske
Tobias Sammet
Jorn Lande
Russell Allen
Bob Catley
Klaus Meine
Tim "Ripper" Owens
Ralf Zdiarstek
Andre Matos
Sascha Paeth
Bruce Kulick
Oliver Hartmann
Tobias Sammet
Sascha Paeth
Eric Singer
Alex Holzwarth
Felix Bohnke
Tobias Sammet
Simon Oberender
Track list
Total lengh: 


- Recorded by Sascha Paeth at Gatestudio, Wolfsburg, Germany, Vox-Klangstudio, Bendestorf, Germany and Peppermint Park Studio, Hannover, Germany.
- Mastered by Michael "Miro" Rodenberg at Gatestudio.
- Mixed by Sascha Paeth at Gatestudio.
- Additional engineering by Olaf Reitmeier and Simon Oberender.

- Michael Kiske sings on 'Wastelands' and 'Runaway Train'.

Different editions

1. Standard European edition: 11 tracks.
2. Limited 2LP edition: 11 tracks.
3. Japanese CD edition: 11 tracks + 'Lost In Space' Live at Wacken '08. (Same like Korean edition and one edition of USA)

Chart positions

Country: Chart position:
Germany 2
Hungary 5
Czech Republic 6
Switzerland 7
Slovenia 7
Austria 9
Sweden 14
Finland 18
Norway 22
UK 26
Netherlands 27
Spain 32
France 74
Japan 89


The main band is formed by Tobias Sammet on lead vocal, bass guitar, keyboards and organ (on track 6, 8), Sascha Paeth on guitar, keyboards, bass (on track 10), Eric Singer on the drums (tracks 2, 4, 6) and Miro on Keyboards and orchestration.

The Guest musicians are Bruce Kulick on guitar (on tracks 6, 11), Oliver Hartman on guitar (tracks 2, 8), Felix Bohnke on drums (tracks 1, 5, 9, 11) and Alex Holzwarth (tracks 3, 7, 8, 10) and Simon Oberender playing the organ on track 11.

Guest Singers:

    Jørn Lande (on tracks 1, 6, 7, 8)
    Michael Kiske (on tracks 2, 6)
    Russell Allen (on tracks 1, 10)
    Bob Catley (on track 6)
    Klaus Meine (on track 4)
    Tim "Ripper" Owens (on track 3)
    André Matos (on track 5)
    Ralf Zdiarstek (on track 9)

The backing vocals done by Cloudy Yang, Amanda Somerville, Tiffany Kirkland, Ina Morgan, Cinzia Rizzo, Thomas Rettke, Oliver Hartmann, Mathias Kontny and Michael Voy.

Promotional stuff

Cover artwork

The cover artwork for the two CDs (see below) was created by Thomas Ewerhard, who also worked on EDGUY's Hellfire Club and AVANTASIA's The Scarecrow album.

Photo session

The promotional photo session was done by the German photographer Alex Kuehr.

Tobias Sammet photo session wicked symphony angel of babylon

Videoclip 'Dying For An Angel'

The videoclip was shot in late January 2010 at the ancient town hall in Hannover, Germany. The video features the collaboration of Klaus Meine vocalist of Scorpions.


Tobias Sammet about Kiske

Tobias: "Michael's voice and singing have had a huge influence on me when I was young. HELLOWEEN's 'Eagle Fly Free' lit the spark for me back then; it made me want to become a singer at age 12. Michael appears on several songs; two are fast and anthemic tunes, my personal 'Eagle Fly Frees,' if you want. Crystal clear and high singing. If uptempo music sounds like that, I don't get tired of it. And still, it is not a copy of early HELLOWEEN or early AVANTASIA. It's great to have Michael sing those kinds of tunes. He's a good guy! Great job, great voice!"

Lost Avantasians - The Scarecrow-trilogy

You can read the complete blog with information about the Lost Avantasians I wrote. For The Wicked Symphony and Angel Of Babylon, Tobi tried with Sebastian Bach (Skid Row) who rejected the collaboration (you can easily realize which song was planned for him since 'Alone I Remember' of Angel Of Babylon album, it's very similar than 'Monkey Business' of Skid Row's Slave To The Grind and 'The Edge' of The Wicked Symphony album also sounds like Skid Row.) Toky Kakko (Sonata Arctica) rejected because his band was working on a new album. Additionally the German vocalist Yvonne Catterfeld was busy acting in a fairytale movie and Eddie Van Valen probably did not even get the request at all.


Catalog numbers
European CD editionNB2351-2Nuclear Blast
European LP limited editionNB-2351-1Nuclear Blast
Russian CD editionIRONDCD101695Irond Records
Argentinian CD editionIcarus632Icarus Records
Japanese CD editionMICP10911Avalon
Korean CD editionL100004044Evolution Music